Poormet

It’s one of those words that works better spoken than written, but the idea is poor people gourmet. A falling down drunk guy in Nebraska with a confederate flag tattooed across the back of his head who called himself “The Original Sspider” calls a can o’ alpo with Four Loco dumped on top Poormet. We’ve never gone quite That poor with the ‘met, usually it’s canned stew dumped over instant mashed potatoes, or cream cheese and ham roll ups. Well, tonight the decision to make fish’ n’ chips led to a new one. First off, no food blogger am I, so I share this out of pure elation. I found this fry batter:  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/145853/unbelievable-fish-batter/

Not only is it infinitely customizable in terms of seasonings, but also as far as what you fry. Which leads me to Poormet Mozzarella  Sticks! If you ever buy string cheese for your kids, here’s how to make it last four times as long, because eating one of the fried cheese sticks is as filling as four in their original format. I put some garlic, oregano and extra salt in the batter and the results were astounding! They cooled surprisingly quickly and weren’t at all the rubbery choking hazards served up on appetizer platters, although my husband deemed them “just as good as the ones you get in a restaurant.”

If you try this let me know what you thought, and if your family approved! Be sure to tell me what you fried and how you seasoned because we love to try new stuff!

Cheers and cheese!

Author: kheprisilvanis

I love my life, my family and our traveling adventure. I hate tweakers and bad parenting.

Leave a Reply

